Skip to content
Maintenance record

What changed, and when we checked it

Turkish permit rules move, and most guides never tell you when theirs stopped being true. This is the log: what a fee or a rule on this site used to say, what it says now, the date, and where that came from. Corrections are in here too — the times we were wrong are the entries that matter most, because they are the ones nobody else publishes.

Fees on this site were last re-verified 11 September 2026. That date is not decoration: every change to this site runs a check that fails when the stamp is more than 60 days old, on a build server rather than on my laptop. The most recent change below is 24 September 2026.
official source

Notarizing a lease: the 2026 statutory minimum is about 1,670 TL in fees, above every figure the site had printed

Was
Cost-of-living calculator, cash before keys: 1,600 TL to notarize the lease. Renting guide (article and FAQ): "Reported costs range from several hundred lira for a plain certification to a few hundred dollars all-in with translation." Moving checklist: "₺500–1,500".
Now
About 1,670 TL in statutory fees in 2026, before page fees, VAT and any sworn translator: Law 492 tariff (2) I-1 sets a minimum harç of 1,283.10 TL for a lease (above roughly 47,300 TL a month on a 12-month lease the harç is 1.13 per mille of the term's rent per signature), and the notary's own fee is 30% of the harç (2026 Noterlik Ücret Tarifesi art. 1). Residential leases carry no stamp duty (Law 488 table (2) IV-31). The calculator now uses 1,670 TL.
Source: Law 492 (Harçlar Kanunu), mevzuat.gov.tr 1.5.492, tariff (2) I-1 and art. 43; 2026 Noterlik Ücret Tarifesi, Resmî Gazete 30.12.2025 No. 33123, art. 1, 3, 5; Law 488 table (2) IV-31 — all read 24 Sep 2026
official source

Renewing a residence permit: the window opens 60 days before expiry, and you can file until the permit's last valid day

Was
"Start your residence permit renewal at least 60 days before it expires" (moving checklist, /docs tips, vault tip, permit guide), which reads as a deadline 60 days before expiry.
Now
The window opens 60 days before expiry and an application is on time until the permit's last valid day (Law 6458 art. 24(2); Implementing Regulation art. 21(5); goc.gov.tr/ikamet-sss). Filing early inside the window stays the advice, because it leaves time to fix a deficiency — but it is advice, not the rule.
Source: Law 6458, consolidated text, mevzuat.gov.tr 1.5.6458 (PDF dated 16 May 2025), art. 24(2); Implementing Regulation to Law 6458, art. 21(5); goc.gov.tr/ikamet-sss — read 24 Sep 2026
official source

The moving checklist, re-read against primary sources: passport validity, when permit fees are paid, the single-entry visa fee, the insurance rule, pet entry, the decision period, the tax number, home-country documents and eight prices

Was
Passport valid "6+ months beyond your stay". Harç paid "at appointment"; no single-entry visa fee. "Foreign insurance is not accepted" / "must be from a Turkish provider". Pets: rabies vaccine 21+ days before travel, no titre test, ~1 month prep. Permit card "in 30-60 days" (guide: "30 to 90 days"). Tax number at "any Vergi Dairesi". Birth certificate, criminal record and marriage certificate for everyone. Four biometric photos (permit guide). İstanbulkart ₺20; SIM ₺200–500 at the airport; internet ₺200–600/month; licence conversion ₺3,000–5,000 with a public-hospital report; e-Devlet "symbolic fee"; utilities "BEDAŞ", transferred by the landlord; closures checked at the Nüfus Müdürlüğü.
Now
Passport valid 60+ days beyond the visa-free stay and beyond the permit asked for (~14 months for a one-year permit). Harç and card fee paid before the appointment, plus the 9,376.40 TL single-entry visa fee for visa-free entrants. Insurance required unless under 18 or over 65 (short-term); applying in Türkiye the policy must be made in Türkiye, SGK agreement cover counts. Pets: microchip, rabies vaccine, titre-test blood ≥30 days later at an EU-approved lab, entry no sooner than 3 months after the draw, max 2 pets. Decision due within 90 days of a complete file; address registration within 20 working days of approval. Tax number online at dijital.gib.gov.tr. Home-country documents only where the route needs them. Two biometric photos. İstanbulkart ₺165; SIM at an operator store (tourist: one line, chipped passport); Türk Telekom internet from ₺640 promo then ₺1,280; class-B licence conversion ₺8,869.60 with a Health Ministry–authorised driver report; first e-Devlet password 5 TL; electricity CK Boğaziçi (European side), each subscription opened in your own name, İGDAŞ deposit 4,097 TL per combi boiler; closures checked on e-ikamet or 157.

Prices the audit could not confirm were removed rather than restamped: the health-insurance range (broker averages that disagree by 3x), the accountant fee, lesson prices and the SIM price (operator pages and our SIM guide disagree until someone checks a store receipt). CHECKLIST_CHECKED_AT in fee-facts.js carries the date and facts-age-lint holds it to 60 days.

Source: Göç İdaresi short-term and family document lists (e-ikamet.goc.gov.tr, tur=0 and tur=3, PDFs of 18 Mar 2025); goc.gov.tr/ikamet-sss; Law 6458 art. 7, 11, 21, 23, 24; Implementing Regulation art. 21-22; Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry border veterinary post notice of 16 May 2025; dijital.gib.gov.tr foreigners' form; istanbulkart.istanbul/ucretler-limitler; bireysel.turktelekom.com.tr; randevu.nvi.gov.tr 2026 fees; nvi.gov.tr driving-licence FAQ; ptt.gov.tr e-Devlet page; ckbogazici.com.tr; igdas.istanbul/guvence-bedeli — all read 24 Sep 2026
official source

The per-country residence-permit harç: the official chart was read, the standard band is confirmed, and four more bands are on the site

Was
Earlier the same day (2026-09-11-residence-fee-groups-are-an-estimate): "Standard band (estimate)" — $25 first month + $5 a month, traced only to a consultancy — and an "Other band (placeholder)" reusing that figure for every other nationality, because the Göç İdaresi's chart link 404s.
Now
The Göç İdaresi's own chart (goc.gov.tr, image served under a decomposed-Unicode path, read 11 Sep 2026): $25 first month / $5 each further month for 158 countries including the US, UK, Germany, France, Canada and Australia — the consultancy's figure was right; $14 / $3.50 (Albania, Cambodia, Israel, Japan, Mali, North Macedonia, Oman, the Philippines, Tajikistan); $9 / $2.50 (Algeria, Belarus, Belgium, Jordan, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Malta, Singapore, Spain, Taiwan); $7 / $1.50 (Ethiopia, Hong Kong, Micronesia, Russia, South Korea); $5 / $0.50 (Egypt, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Montenegro, Morocco, Tunisia). Japan is $14 / $3.50, about $52 a year — not the "$560 a year" the consultancy's schedule and this site's old label had carried. Only Serbia, Fiji, Norway and the Northern Mariana Islands stay a placeholder: they pay the lira tariff, which the USD row cannot express.

The chart's link on the page 404s under normal URL encoding; the file is served only under the decomposed-Unicode (NFD) path, which is why the 4 Aug and 11 Sep audits could not reach it until that evening (the Wayback Machine's copy from March 2023 gave the encoding away). FACTS_VERIFIED_AT moves to 2026-09-11 with this entry: every constant in fee-facts.js now traces to a primary source read that day.

Source: Göç İdaresi chart "ÜLKELERE GÖRE HARÇ MİKTARLARI", https://www.goc.gov.tr/kurumlar/goc.gov.tr/Kanunlar/u%CC%88lkelere_go%CC%88re_harc_miktarlari.png (linked from goc.gov.tr/belge-bedeli-ve-harc-miktari), transcribed by hand 11 Sep 2026 — see RESIDENCE_FEE_GROUPS in app/lib/fee-facts.js
official source

The overstay fine: the statute collects the residence harç for the overstayed period at double, and after the first month any started month counts whole — the doubling was missing and the month rule was hedged, so every fine the calculator showed was low by the whole harç

Was
The residence-harç line was the plain tariff — "a first-month amount plus a smaller amount for each additional month" — never doubled, so the six-month US example read "$25 for the first month plus 5 × $5 for the rest — $50 in residence fees for six months". The month rounding was carried as an office habit: "Even 1 day over bills as a full first month; any started month counts whole (reported practice)", repeated in the FAQ and its JSON-LD.
Now
The same tariff × 2 on the residence harç only. Law 492, tariff (6) section III: "Bu suretle hesaplanan harç, ceza ve gecikme faizi uygulanmaksızın bir kat fazlası ile tahsil edilir" — collected at one-fold more, with no separate penalty and no late interest. Six months on the standard band is now $100 of harç, still flagged as an estimate because the band itself is (see 2026-09-11-residence-fee-groups-are-an-estimate). The 964 TL card fee and the 9,376.40 TL single-entry visa harç are separate items the clause does not touch, and are not doubled. The month rule is stated as statute from the same tariff text — "İlk aydan sonraki aylara ait harcın hesabında ay kesirleri tam ay olarak dikkate alınır" — with its scope kept precise: the sentence is about months after the first; the first month is billed whole because the USD schedule gives a single first-month figure and no per-day split. The breakdown shows the tariff and the doubling as two rows that sum, the emailed summary carries both, and the hedge is gone.

A figure change on a page that promised an email, dated after the notifier epoch, so the sender will offer it to everyone who saved the overstay page inside the window — which is the promise. The direction matters: until 11 Sep 2026 the page understated the fine, and understating a border fine is the expensive way to be wrong, because the reader finds out at the desk holding the cash they brought for the smaller number. The doubling clause has been in the tariff since 2001; nothing changed in the law, only in how carefully it had been read. Pinned by __tests__/overstay-doubling.test.js: card fee and visa harç undoubled, exempt band zero, 40 days billed as 2 months.

Source: Law 492 (Harçlar Kanunu), tariff (6), section III, in the text hosted by the Göç İdaresi at https://www.goc.gov.tr/kurumlar/goc.gov.tr/files/5.pdf, read 11 Sep 2026 and quoted verbatim in app/lib/fee-facts.js (OVERSTAY_HARC_MULTIPLIER, OVERSTAY_LAW_CITATION); the tariff marks the doubling sentences as added by Law 4731 art. 6 of 28/12/2001
official source

The overstay entry-ban tiers: the Göç İdaresi's own announcement, not a hedged copy of two law-firm tables

Was
A tier table captioned "Reported administrative practice (two independent Turkish legal sources publish this identical table, July 2026) — not a statute you can cite at the gate", every label suffixed "(reported)" — "1-month entry ban (reported)" up to "5-year entry ban (reported)" — with thresholds at 92 and 183 days. The under-3-months tier read "Ban possible — reported both ways": "Published tariff tables report no entry ban for short overstays when you leave voluntarily through a border gate and pay on exit. Readers report otherwise: a 90-day ban at one day over, paid and voluntary." The alert box said "the ban side is not published anywhere official", and the FAQ told readers to "treat a ban as possible at any length rather than a threshold you stay under".
Now
The Göç İdaresi announcement of 9 June 2020, stated as the official table it is — and read as the two tables it actually contains. Route A, voluntary and paid: under 3 months ("3 aya kadar (3 ay dâhil değil)") no entry ban if you present yourself at a border gate before the violation is detected — or, after a deportation decision, leave within the period given — and pay the Law 492 fees; from 3 months, only the present-before-detection-and-paid route gets 1 month (3–6 months), 3 months (6 months–1 year), 1 year (1–2 years), 2 years (2–3 years), "5 yıl süreli giriş yasağı" (over 3 years). Route B, everyone else — detected first, fee unpaid, or 3 months and over under a deportation decision ("ödeyip ödemediğine bakılmaksızın"): 3 months (up to 3 months over), 6 months, 1 year, 2 years, 5 years (over 2 years). Both tables are on the page.

The two law-firm tables were copying this announcement; we had been citing the copies and hedging them. For a few hours on 11 Sep 2026 this entry and the page said every tier shared one condition and that the 7 Aug 2026 reader account (90-day ban at one day over, voluntary and paid by their account) could not be reconciled with the text. A verifier re-read the announcement: the second table gives exactly a 3-month ban for a short overstay to anyone outside the voluntary-and-paid route, and the account does not show which route the officer applied. The page now carries both tables and the account, and the under-3-months tier stays amber rather than green.

Source: Göç İdaresi announcement dated 09.06.2020 on the entry bans applied to foreigners who violated their legal stay, https://www.goc.gov.tr/yasal-kalis-hakki-ihlalinde-bulunan-yabancilara-uygulanacak-giris-yasaklarina-iliskin-aciklama, read 11 Sep 2026; tiers and condition quoted in app/calculator/overstay-fine/overstay-math.js (ENTRY_BAN_TIERS, ENTRY_BAN_CONDITION)
official source

The Istanbul yellow-taxi tariff: the 20 July 2026 tariff replaces the February one that three pages kept printing as "verified" for seven weeks

Was
On /blog/istanbul-taxi-scams-2026: "the current tariff — in force since 16 February 2026" of "65.40 TL" flag-drop, "43.56 TL" per kilometre, a 210 TL minimum and waiting time at "544.45 TL/hour", with kerb maths of "a 10 km ride ≈ 65 + 436 ≈ 500 TL" and "A 5 km hop lands at the 210 TL minimum", under the footer "Tariff figures verified against the official İBB TUHİM tariff document (in force 16 February 2026, Meclis decision 263)". On /scams: "Official 2026 yellow-taxi tariff (İBB, Feb 2026): 65.40 TL flag-drop (açılış), 43.56 TL/km, 210 TL minimum per trip", a fair-price row of "1,500-2,100 TL" for IST Airport → Sultanahmet, and a footer reading "Prices updated April 2026. Turkey has high inflation — verify current rates. Taxi fares from ITEO official tariff."
Now
71.94 TL flag-drop, 47.92 TL per kilometre, 230 TL minimum and 598.90 TL/hour waiting, in force from 20 July 2026 under İBB Meclis Kararı 813 of 17 July 2026 — read from TAXI_IST in app/lib/fee-facts.js on the blog and the /scams page, hand-typed in the scams entry but pinned to the constant by __tests__/taxi-tariff-single-source.test.js. The kerb maths is recomputed: a 10 km ride ≈ 551 TL, and the minimum binds only under about 3.3 km (the old "5 km hop = minimum" was wrong arithmetic even under the February tariff, which put 5 km at 283 TL). The IST → Sultanahmet fair price is now computed from the tariff for the ~45 km the entry itself states — about 2,200 TL metered plus tolls; the old 1,500–2,100 TL range sat below the bare meter. The blog says outright that the February figures were superseded on 20 July and stayed on the page until 11 September 2026, and the /scams footer names İBB (TUHİM) and the FACTS_VERIFIED_AT date instead of "ITEO" and "April 2026". The airport fares (1,800 TL to Taksim, 2,300–2,500 TL to Sultanahmet) are kept as mid-2026 reports that predate a rise of about 10%.

The failure is the stamp, not the number. The 4 Aug 2026 re-verification missed a hike that had been in force for 15 days and wrote a fresh "verified" line over the old tariff, so for seven weeks the page told readers to "Memorize 65 / 43 / 210" while the meter ran on 72 / 48 / 230 — a reader arguing a fare off this page would have been wrong by about 10%, and would have lost the argument to the driver. Istanbul has revised the tariff twice this year; fee-facts.js now marks TAXI_IST as the constant most likely to be stale at every review. The same superseded numbers still sit in the chat's retrieval corpus (scripts/embed-rag.js) until it is re-embedded.

Source: İBB TUHİM yellow-taxi tariff in force from 20.07.2026 (İBB Meclis Kararı 813 of 17.07.2026): flag-drop 71,94 TL, per km 47,92 TL, minimum 230,00 TL, waiting 598,90 TL/hour — the tariff PDF cited in app/lib/fee-facts.js (tuhim.ibb.gov.tr/media/27494/taksi-taşımacılığı-ücret-tarifesi.pdf, "20.07.2026 TARİHİNDEN İTİBAREN GEÇERLİDİR"), cross-checked against the department's year-by-year table (media/27503/taksi.pdf), re-read 11 Sep 2026; the superseded February tariff (65,40 / 43,56 / 210,00) is Karar 263 of 12.02.2026
official source

When the 120-day window for an unregistered foreign phone starts: from the day you enter Türkiye, not from the first Turkish SIM

Was
On /blog/imei-phone-registration-turkiye-guide: "The countdown starts the moment you first insert a Turkish SIM card into your foreign phone. Not from your entry date into Türkiye, but from the first time your phone connects to a Turkish mobile network. If you arrive and use only WiFi without inserting a SIM, the countdown does not start." On /blog/sim-card-turkey-residents-2026: "120 days from when you first connect it to a Turkish network … The clock starts on first use, not on entry", a summary row reading "Works 120 days, then gets blocked", and — with no source anywhere in the repo — "BTK closed the dual-SIM loophole this year — flagged devices got a final 120-day window from January 2026 and blocking began 1 May 2026." The guide carried the same claim in its own words: "Also gone: the old dual-SIM trick of resetting the 120-day clock. BTK flagged such devices from January 2026 and began blocking them on 1 May 2026 — do not plan around it."
Now
BTK's own wording: "Yurt dışından getirilen cihazlar, yurda giriş tarihinden itibaren 120 gün kayıt yaptırmadan kullanılabilmektedir" — a device brought from abroad can be used without registration for 120 days from the date of entry into the country — and "Cihaz 120 gün içinde kayıt edilmemesi durumunda iletişime kapatılmaktadır" — a device not registered within 120 days is closed to communication. So the count runs from the entry date; inserting the SIM late, swapping SIMs between slots or staying on Wi-Fi does nothing to it. What a later exit and re-entry does to the count is not stated on BTK's page, and the posts now say so rather than guess. The two "dual-SIM loophole / 1 May 2026" sentences were deleted as unsourced, not hedged; both posts carry a dated correction saying the earlier version had the clock wrong.

The old wording pointed readers at a plan — keep the SIM out, keep the clock stopped — that does not exist, and someone who followed it would have found the phone blocked earlier than they had budgeted for. The fee (54,258 TL in 2026, IMEI_FEE_TRY) and the 120-day length were right the whole time; the error was the starting point, which is the part that decides whether a reader has four months left or two. The "blocking began 1 May 2026" detail had no source anywhere in the repo, so it went rather than being hedged.

Source: BTK consumer page on the central device registration system (Merkezi Cihaz Kayıt Sistemi), https://tuketici.btk.gov.tr/merkezi-cihaz-kayit-sistemi, fetched 11 Sep 2026 and quoted verbatim above
official source

The voluntary GSS premium quoted to foreigners was the citizens' rate — a quarter of what a foreigner pays

Was
On /healthcare, a price-table row "SGK/GSS monthly premium — ~1,982 TL/mo" and, in the public-system column of the public-vs-private comparison, "~1,982 TL/month (GSS)". On the FAQ's SGK answer: "Self-sponsored residents become eligible after one year of legal residence and pay monthly GSS premiums (approximately 1,982 TL/month in 2026 per SGK.gov.tr)".
Now
7,927.20 TL/month in 2026: a foreigner on voluntary GSS pays 24% of the gross minimum wage under Law 5510 art. 60/1-d (33,030 × 0.24), read from GSS_FOREIGNER_MONTHLY_TRY in app/lib/fee-facts.js on both pages. The 1,981.80 TL figure is the citizens' rate — 6% under art. 60/1-g — and where it is still mentioned it is labelled as the rate a foreigner would not pay. The /healthcare price table it sat in — 21 unsourced rows under "Prices updated April 2026" — was removed whole, and the page says so in its place.

The correct constant had been in fee-facts.js since the 4 Aug 2026 audit, whose comment already said the 1,981.80 figure was the citizen premium — the healthcare page and the FAQ simply never read it. Four times is not a rounding error: a reader budgeting a self-sponsored year on the old number was short by about 71,000 TL. Same failure class as the MASAK entry of 17 Aug: the right number was in our own constants file and a prose page hand-typed a wrong one.

Source: Law 5510 art. 60/1-d (foreigners on voluntary GSS, 24%) and art. 60/1-g (citizens, 6%) of the gross minimum wage, 33,030 TL for 2026 per the GİB deductions table — 7,927.20 and 1,981.80 TL/month — the SGK figures carried in app/lib/fee-facts.js as GSS_FOREIGNER_MONTHLY_TRY and GSS_CITIZEN_MONTHLY_TRY since PR #220 (4 Aug 2026), re-confirmed 11 Sep 2026
official source

The residence-permit income bar: a published Göç İdaresi rule, not reported practice — and a family's bar is counted per member, not per adult

Was
"~1.5× net minimum wage, reported practice (not a published rule)" in fee-facts.js, with the value rounded down to 42,100 TL; "about 42,000 TL/month in 2026" on the renewal check, whose income block read "1.5x the net minimum wage per adult applicant, plus additional income for each accompanying family member"; and on the cost-of-living calculator "about 42,100 TL per adult — reported practice, not a published rule", with a household's bar computed as 42,100 × adults ("84,200 TL for 2 adults").
Now
A published rule, quoted from the Göç İdaresi's own required-documents sheet for the short-term (tourism-purpose) permit: a single applicant needs at least 1.5× the net minimum wage in force on the application date — 42,113.25 TL/month in 2026 — and a family applying together needs one net minimum wage per family member, applicant and children included (28,075.50 TL each; the sheet's own example is 4 minimum wages for a family of four, 112,302 TL). The figure moves whenever the wage does, because the rule reads the wage in force on the application date. The cost-of-living calculator had overstated a couple's bar by about 50% (84,200 TL where the rule says 56,151 TL) and did not count children at all; it now applies the per-member figure, and says that unrelated adults sharing a flat are each a single applicant at 1.5×.

The hedge was the error. Every surface that stated this bar called it an office habit and told readers to expect variation, when the definition had been sitting in the government's own document list the whole time — the single-applicant sentence and the family sentence are in the same paragraph. The number was off by 13.25 TL, which nobody would have noticed; the family framing was off by half, which a couple planning a move would. One thing recorded rather than resolved: the family clause says "asgari ücret düzeyinde" without repeating "net"; fee-facts.js reads it as net, the figure the same sentence names for the single applicant. A reader asked for gross per member (33,030 TL) would be the report that settles it. The rule is printed under the tourism-purpose documents, so it is stated for that permit and no other; what stays reported is how strictly an individual office reads the statements behind it.

Source: Göç İdaresi (e-İkamet) required-documents sheet for the short-term permit, https://e-ikamet.goc.gov.tr/Ikamet/BasvuruIstenenBelgeler/BasvuruFormuIstenenBelgeler?tur=0, p.4, section "e. Turizm amaçlı kalacaklar", read 11 Sep 2026 and quoted verbatim in app/lib/fee-facts.js; net minimum wage 28,075.50 TL per the GİB 2026 deductions table
practice write-ups

The residence-permit harç for the standard and "other" nationality bands: downgraded from a verified tariff to an estimate from a secondary schedule

Was
A select option reading "Standard reciprocity — US, UK, and most nationalities (~$80/yr for a 12-month permit)", under a page header saying "All figures updated with 2026 Göç İdaresi fee schedule" and a footer stamp "Government figures checked 4 Aug 2026 against goc.gov.tr". The "other" band said "treat this estimate as a FLOOR and check goc.gov.tr". On the overstay page, a hand-typed five-row table — "Türkiye sorts countries into five fee groups" — captioned "USD-denominated tariff as reported for 2026": group 1, "US, Germany, France, Netherlands, China, Pakistan, Kazakhstan + most others (158 countries)", $50 first month / $10 each extra month; group 2 (Japan, Israel, Philippines, Albania, North Macedonia, Oman, Tajikistan) $28 / $7; group 3 (Spain, Belgium, Singapore, Taiwan, Kuwait, Jordan, Luxembourg, Malta) $18 / $5; group 4 (Russia, South Korea, Hong Kong, Ethiopia) $14 / $3; group 5, "Egypt, Iraq, Morocco, Tunisia, Montenegro, Ivory Coast", $10 / $1 — while the calculator on the same page priced a US passport at $25 + $5, and its FAQ said so.
Now
The same $25 first month + $5 each further month, now labelled "Standard band (estimate)" and rendered as an estimate that points at the official chart wherever it appears. Its only source is one private consultancy's schedule; the official per-country chart on goc.gov.tr is published solely as an image (/kurumlar/goc.gov.tr/Kanunlar/ülkelere_göre_harc_miktarlari.png), which returned 404 on 11 Sep 2026, so no nationality — the US and UK included — has ever been read against it. The "other" band is a placeholder, not a floor: the consultancy's own list has bands both far above and below it. The overstay page's five-group table is deleted rather than corrected: it matched neither the consultancy schedule nor anything readable on goc.gov.tr, and the page now renders the same three bands the permit page does (standard-estimate, exempt, other-placeholder) and points at the official chart. What stays verified is what goc.gov.tr's readable text contains: the ten fee-exempt nationalities, the four on the statutory TL tariff, the 964 TL card fee and the 9,376.40 TL single-entry visa fee.

Nothing on the page changed in amount; what changed is the claim made about the amount. The 4 Aug 2026 check had corrected this entry from exactly double the consultancy's figure and then stamped it "checked against goc.gov.tr" — but goc.gov.tr's readable text never contained it, so the stamp said more than anyone had done. FACTS_VERIFIED_AT was deliberately NOT advanced on 11 Sep for the same reason: the date moves when a human has read the chart, not before. Recorded here because a reader who budgeted off the old label was told the figure was verified when it was not, which is the opposite of what the stamp exists to promise.

Source: Our own fee audit of 11 Sep 2026: goc.gov.tr/belge-bedeli-ve-harc-miktari re-read (its text names only the exempt list and the TL-tariff nationalities; the per-country chart image 404s), and the USD figure traced to a single consultancy page, atakurumsal.com.tr/turkiyede-ikamet-izni-ucretleri, whose byline is dated 28 May 2025 under a 2026 title
official source

The money-transfer reporting threshold on the banking FAQ was wrong, and wrong in a way that made people split transfers

Was
"Transactions over roughly 7,500 USD are automatically reported to MASAK" — printed on the banking FAQ.
Now
There is no automatic-reporting threshold at all. What exists is customer identification: 185,000 TL on a transaction or on linked transactions totalling more, and 15,000 TL on an electronic transfer, where verified sender and recipient details must travel with the message. Both since 1 February 2023. Suspicious-transaction reporting has no monetary floor, so a large, documented transfer triggers nothing by size alone.

Three errors stacked in one sentence: a TL threshold read as USD, a figure superseded in 2023, and the transfer-message rule mistaken for a reporting rule. It matters more than its size suggests because of what a reader DOES with it — someone who believes a transfer is auto-reported above a threshold splits the transfer to stay under it, and structuring is the behaviour anti-money-laundering rules are actually looking for. So the wrong number pushed people toward the one thing that draws attention. Found by a banking sweep on 17 Aug 2026, not by a reader. The correct figure had been sitting in our own fee-facts constants the whole time and the FAQ never read it.

Source: MASAK Tedbirler Yönetmeliği thresholds as amended (in force 1 Feb 2023); the figure already sat in app/lib/fee-facts.js as MASAK_ID_THRESHOLD_TRY = 185000
first-hand reader report

How the overstay fine is paid, and two options nobody publishes

Was
"Card is reportedly accepted at some desks and refused at others" — a split hedge resting on one report, from a reader who called it the "entry tax" at Fethiye port.
Now
Cash only, no cards. The process a reader described: police take you to their office, enter the overstay, read out the amount — and tell you there whether you are banned and for how long. If you have no cash they will point you at an ATM inside the terminal, let someone bring it to you, or let you settle it when you next enter the country.

This is what the group post was for, and it worked better than the question asked. Two things arrived that were on no page anywhere: that the BAN and its length are told to you at that same desk, in the same conversation as the amount — everyone assumes you discover that the next time you try to fly in — and that settling on re-entry is something the officers OFFER. That second one retro-fits an account I had dismissed: a reader's wife could not pay on exit and paid months later on re-entry with no ban, which contradicted the tier tables the law firms publish, so I filed it as an anomaly. Two independent accounts and it is procedure. Still `reader` and it always will be: goc.gov.tr's visa-violation page says nothing about payment method at all, which I checked on the page itself rather than trusting a search summary that had wrongly attributed the answer to it.

Source: Second independent first-hand account, 11 Aug 2026, in reply to a question asked in an expat group; first account 9 Aug 2026 (Fethiye port)
dated reporting

Correcting my own correction about Papara, twelve hours later

Was
"...while still under TMSF receivership" — published this morning on the banking guide and in the entry above.
Now
The receivership was already over. TMSF put the group up for sale on 22 Jan 2026 and Türkiye Emlak Katılım Bankası, a state-owned participation bank, won the tender and took 100% of the shares, with Capital Markets Board approval in April 2026. Whether the electronic-money company's transfer separately cleared the Central Bank permission Law 6493 requires is something I could not confirm either way, and I am not claiming it has.

This is on the record rather than fixed silently, because a correction we hide is the same class of failure as the newsletter we never sent. HOW IT HAPPENED, because the mechanism matters more than the mistake: I read the record up to 21 Jan 2026 and stopped, then published a present-tense claim about a company's regulatory status. The sources I used were real, dated and correctly cited — this was not a sourcing failure, it was a RECENCY failure, and gate 10 checks that a claim has a basis but never that the basis is still current. Two more things I had wrong in the same paragraph: the 21 Jan licence restoration came from a stay of execution by Ankara's 25th Administrative Court, not from the Central Bank reconsidering; and the company itself is not a criminal defendant — 25 individuals were indicted, and under Turkish law a company cannot be one.

Source: CNBC-e, Sabah, Anadolu Agency and Webrazzi on the TMSF tender and the SPK approval (Apr 2026), cross-checked 10 Aug 2026
dated reporting

Whether this site recommends Papara

Was
"Papara is hugely popular in Türkiye... open in minutes with just your passport and phone number... great for daily spending, splitting bills with friends, and online purchases." And "Papara is great for daily payments" in the document guide.
Now
Withdrawn, with the dates instead. TMSF appointed receiver 27 May 2025 during an Istanbul prosecutor's investigation into illegal betting and money laundering; e-money licence cancelled 31 Oct 2025 (Resmî Gazete); that cancellation withdrawn 21 Jan 2026 after a court stay, so the licence stands. Not a prediction about anyone's money. SUPERSEDED THE SAME DAY — see 2026-08-10-papara-receivership-had-already-ended.

Found by an independent source-check of the claim backlog. The contradiction was ours and it ran for months: our own scam guide lists Papara among the channels fraudsters in expat Facebook groups prefer, because those payments are hard to reverse — while the banking guide and the document guide recommended it for daily spending.

Source: Resmî Gazete dates via dated Turkish financial press (FinTech İstanbul, 21 Jan 2026; Fintechtime, 31 Oct 2025), cross-checked 10 Aug 2026
official source

The claim that touristic renewal refusals rose in May 2025

Was
"Second and later renewals on purely touristic grounds are widely reported as refused since May 2025", plus "refusal rates up since May 2025", "near-total refusal" and a quoted ~99% figure — across 19 places, including the AI chat's own instructions.
Now
The statute, unhedged: Law 6458 art. 33 lets a short-term permit be refused or not extended when the reason it was granted no longer holds, which is what an officer tests on a repeat touristic renewal. No frequency, no start date, and the copy now says outright that nobody publishes a refusal rate.

The "May 2025" date traced to the publication date of a commercial permit agency's marketing page, on two mirrored domains — the same source category that already cost us the nationality claim. Goc Idaresi publishes no decision statistics, and its only official page on tourism-permit restrictions is dated 15.09.2020 and SUSPENDS one, so there was never an official tier to appeal to in either direction. The condition is real law; the trend was a guess repeated until it sounded like a fact.

Source: Law 6458 art. 32(1)(a) and art. 33 via goc.gov.tr/ikamet-izni-cesitleri, checked 9-10 Aug 2026
first-hand reader report

How the overstay fine is paid at the border

Was
"Paid in TL at the border (cash or card)" — stated flatly, directly under the estimate, with no source anywhere in the repo.
Now
Bring lira in cash. Card is reportedly taken at some desks and refused at others, so a card is a bonus rather than a plan.

Checking it found the published guidance split down the middle — some practitioner write-ups say cash only in lira with foreign cards refused, others say cash or card. Neither is assertable. The direction was chosen by consequence, not preference: carrying cash you did not need costs nothing, while trusting a card that is refused costs you your place in a queue at a border you are trying to leave. SCOPE CAVEAT, stated rather than hidden: the reader called it the "entry tax" at Fethiye port. At a small seaport that is plausibly the same window that takes an overstay fine, but we have not confirmed it is, so this entry is about the payment point rather than about one specific fee. She has been asked which desk it was; when she answers, this entry gets narrowed or split.

Source: Reader report, Fethiye port, 9 Aug 2026: payment point cash-only, nearest ATM outside the building, queue to be rejoined afterwards
practice write-ups

Where a foreign driving licence is exchanged

Was
Two conflicting answers on this site: one process sent you to the nüfus müdürlüğü, another to the Emniyet Müdürlüğü (traffic police).
Now
İl/ilçe nüfus müdürlüğü, appointment via randevu.nvi.gov.tr. Licences moved to NVI; Emniyet was the pre-2016 answer.

Our own error rather than a rule change — we were sending some readers to the wrong building. Recorded here because a reader who went there deserves to know why.

Source: 2026 Turkish practitioner guides, checked 8 Aug 2026
practice write-ups

What makes a bank balance look borrowed

Was
"A lump sum deposited just before filing is reportedly read as borrowed money rather than income."
Now
What draws scrutiny is the pattern, not the calendar: money that arrives and leaves again, or a large deposit with no explicable source. Roughly three consecutive months of funds with visible spending against them is what is expected.

The old wording had no source anywhere in the repo and was steering people to prepare against a deadline that does not exist.

Source: Reader challenge (German passport, Antalya, 7 Aug 2026), checked against immigration-practice guidance
first-hand reader report

When a residence permit starts

Was
Not stated anywhere on the site.
Now
Reported to be dated from around the day you filed, not the day it was granted — and the gap can be weeks.

Single first-hand report, so the copy hedges. Consequence of being wrong is renewing after expiry, which is why it is stated at all.

Source: Canadian applicant, Ankara: filed 29 Jun 2026, approved 6 Aug, card runs from 1 Jul
first-hand reader report

The single-entry visa fee receipt

Was
Listed as one of several "fee payment receipts" to keep.
Now
A required document in its own right. Arriving without it can cost you the appointment.
Source: Same applicant, Ankara, Aug 2026 — sent away and made to return solely to hand it in
dated reporting

Province strictness rankings

Was
"Antalya and Alanya reportedly strictest", and "in Muğla renewals reportedly issue for 6 months only".
Now
Removed. The only source for either was an estate agency's sales page, which also misdates the $200,000 property rule. What is sourced: retirees able to document income have reportedly been granted extensions in İzmir, Antalya and Muğla.
Source: Türkiye Today, 22 Nov 2025
official source

Whether nationality excuses you from a bank statement

Was
"EU/Schengen, US, UK and Canadian applicants reportedly often skip bank statements on first applications."
Now
Removed. The published short-term document list keys only FEES to nationality — the permit harç, and the single-entry visa harç for certain country groups. Every applicant declares sufficient and regular means.

Its only support was a commercial permit agency. It appeared twice, once inside a block that renders into FAQPage schema — the version most likely to reach someone packing a folder.

Source: e-ikamet published document list + goc.gov.tr FAQ, retrieved 7 Aug 2026
official source

IMEI registration fee

Was
Present on explainer pages only.
Now
54,258 TL, and now costed in the move-in total — on a mid-tier flat it is 28% of the cash needed before keys.
Source: 2026 tariff, in fee-facts.js
Found something here that is out of date?

Then it belongs on this page. Most of the entries above exist because a reader pushed back — one of them because someone with a German passport applying in Antalya told me a claim of mine was wrong, and he was right. Reply to any email from me, or tell me in the group.

What a permit costs →Check your own situation →